This kind of thinking really should be killed off

I’m talking about SHAME. Humiliating, self-loathing, debilitating shame. What’s the point of it?

The point is, pretty much, to make you more humble and grateful through getting you to put yourself down. Nope! That is not how you become a better, more positive person.

I felt shame very strongly at one point in my life–so strongly that I felt I couldn’t justify my existence and wasn’t worth anything. The only way that I was ever able to escape this emotional prison was by completely crushing any sense of  shame I had about myself…not accepting even one bit of it.

There are often good reasons we feel temporary guilt. But shame is very different. It is a very destructive state of thought, like resentment, jealousy, and depression. It’s like a cancer lying in wait that can grow and grow and grow, taking over your thinking And it doesn’t go away unless you change your state of mind.

If you do feel ashamed… don’t be ashamed that you feel shame. 🙂 You see, shame multiplies on itself, so I’m telling you right now, we’re gonna stop this cycle right here. Are you with me?

Have I no shame? Hell no! Neither should you. And don’t let anyone make you think you should. 🙂

This entry was posted in Conflict and dealing with negativity, Personal reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to This kind of thinking really should be killed off

  1. Pingback: Desire for control: the roots of fascination with sex and violence « Positive Juice

  2. Shamona says:

    Shame is a powerful emotion. Its in the same category with embarassment. Two emotions that’s very hard to overcome especially when someone witnessed your shame or embarassment.

  3. Pingback: The art of disarming: a better way to settle conflict « Positive Juice

  4. hah a lot of of the opinions people post are so silly, often i ponder whether they in reality read the article and content before writing or whether or not they simply just read the title of the blog post and type the very first thing that comes to mind. regardless, it is really useful to browse intelligent commentary every now and then instead of the same exact, traditional blog vomit which i invariably observe on the internet

  5. Panic Attack says:

    Fantastic blog post! This could aid plenty of people find out about this matter. Would you like to add video clips besides these? It could certainly help out. Your reason was spot on and owing to you; I probably won’t have to express everything to my buddies. I can just lead them here.

  6. Merle Kagan says:

    Excellent post I must say.. Simple but yet entertaining and engaging.. Keep up the awesome work!

  7. Hasix says:

    finding it difficult to convey my response to what i just read.

    so I’ll settle for a very primal, yet effective:

    😀

  8. Pingback: Can positive people be sad or depressed? « Positive Juice

  9. Pingback: One atheist’s understanding of the message of Jesus Christ « Positive Juice

Comment